Happy Holidays!

Taking It Easy

Reset

This year for me was about resetting so I could get all the things I wanted. That meant focusing on myself first and foremost, and it was a challenging thing to do. Mostly because I am not a patient person, I am very driven, and I like to see my results quickly. However, I had to make peace with the fact that I could not rush the rest of my life, because that’s what this is. I want to be a professional writer for the rest of my life and I have to take that journey at the pace it comes, it’s not going to be a pace I necessarily get to set, especially at the beginning. I have to put in as much effort as I can, but I also have to step back, have faith, and let the work I am doing grow accordingly.

As we approached the end of the year more exciting things started to happen in my writing career and those things are starting to take shape. However, there are still some quiet days, and on those days I have to remember the sky is not falling. When things are exciting I have to move and enjoy it, and when things are quiet I need to take a breath, appreciate what is happening, and be ready for the excitement to start again, but not force it, because again…I can’t.

I think that 2024 could be the best year of my life yet. Not just professionally but personally as well. And I need to get ready for that. Part of getting ready for it? Slowing down and enjoying these final days so I am back to full strength when the New Year begins. It’s one of the reasons I am keeping this post short.

The last few posts I have done are good, I like them, but I also acknowledge that these are starting to lose their shape. I may post less in the new year, but post more intentionally. However, as I work on more projects, that will also hopefully provide more content for me to write about.

With all of that being said, thank you all for subscribing to this Newsletter this year and not only supporting me in this endeavor but on my whole journey. Some so many people have had my back this year, and honestly for many years now, and I’m going to do right by you in 2024. Most of you who have known me long enough are going “Are you going to do right by yourself?” And I finally feel like I’m in a place where I can tell you, yes I am. I’m ready to look out for your friend, Dave, he’s someone I’ve grown fond of.

Stay safe!

—Dave Wielgosz