Dave, Where Are You?

Getting Back on Schedule

Dave, Where Are You?

Last year I started this newsletter to share my writing journey and talk about stories I wrote but didn’t share information about when they were originally published. It was rewarding, and I feel confident that people are starting to know me better, but after writing about everything I had done…I didn’t have anything left to say. Instead of putting pressure on myself to throw random things out there, I decided I would wait until more life had happened that I could write about.

Good news? More life has happened. Specifically for the interests of the people who read this newsletter? A lot of writing work has begun to happen. Last year was about leaving DC as an editor, letting people know I was ready to write full-time, and sending out my pre-existing work and new ideas. Things were a little slower to start than I had anticipated, but I kept my confidence up. Since the beginning of this year, I have been working on writing projects very consistently. Ones I have been commissioned to do, and brand new ideas I am trying to get set up.

As I type this post, I have three writing projects on track to be published this year. The first I will be able to start talking about and promoting next week. It’s a very cool, a bit of a bucket-list item for me, and something I know folks will be excited about. The other two I should be able to start talking about in the summer.

My current goal is to get six professional writing projects this year. I am halfway there and as I have said on social media, I am more than willing to exceed that goal. I have been so happy to be working these last few months, and I am looking forward to sharing these new stories and my joy for them with all of you.

“So are you going to go away again after that project is announced next week?”

No. Last weekend I sat down with my notebook and I made a plan for what I am going to be posting for the next couple of months. I want to get back to updating this Newsletter weekly, and hopefully growing my audience.

This post will be short. Next week’s will be long. Thank you for waiting. There’s so much good stuff ahead.

Stay safe!

—Dave Wielgosz